The Awakening of James Island

The Awakening of James Island

48.8K Reads 3K Votes 30 Part Story
Alex Pilalis By Alecc0 Completed

Island Legends Book 1

Island Legends is an epic fantasy adventure series set in a galaxy reeling from devastating wars, filled with countless alien species, a rich history of powerful magical forces and the interventions of many gods and dangerous spirits and demons constantly at war. 

The novel tells the story of James Island, who was born two years earlier as a fully grown man with little knowledge beyond his own name. While struggling to build a life for himself in the desert city of Tyken Town, James finds his world turned upside down when he is confronted by Evan Goodheart, a strange young alien who claims to be on a mission sent by the gods to find James and save his own people. 
Despite trepidation, James finds an affinity with the lost and bewildered Evan and takes it upon himself to help him find his way; all while attempting to maintain some order in the life he's made and his construction work responsibilities. 
Throughout the course of the day James will discover just how entwined his fate is with Evans as the truth of his unknown past is revealed to him, setting him on a perilous journey that will lead him across the galaxy. 

Among its many influences are the grand operatic adventures of the Star Wars universe, the ensemble cast of desperate heroes of a Final Fantasy game, and the long and all-important journey of The Lord of the Rings and The Wheel of Time series. I also like to think of it as a serial television show, where we learn more of the characters as the progressively complex story develops, with new characters being introduced along the way.