Diane Capri’s life was humming along on all cylinders. Born in Alabama, she grew up in a small German-American farming town north of Detroit, where she lived a book-filled childhood and followed most of life’s rules. She graduated from Wayne Law School cum laude and served as an editor of the Wayne Law Review. Ranked in the top 1% of lawyers nationwide, she practiced law throughout the U.S., representing clients from around the world.

Always an insatiable reader with a keen interest in crime fiction, particularly mystery and suspense, Diane spent the travel years on airplanes and in hotel rooms. She put the time to good use by learning fiction craft when not practicing law, but her friends pointed out that her fiction files contained only desire and incomplete projects. Too true. While she published millions of words during her legal career, Diane jokes, “Most of them were nonfiction.”

But in 1995, one shocking phone call destroyed her thriving practice. Diane’s largest client filed for bankruptcy protection, blasting a gaping hole in her by-the-book life. The hours to write what she loved instead of what paid the bills stretched endlessly before her. She figured it was now or never.

Diane challenged herself to complete Carly’s Conspiracy in the style of stories she loved to read. She’d been through Travis McGee’s adventures a dozen times, never tiring of his exploits. She’d moved to Florida and adored everything about the Sunshine State.

No surprise, then, that her first novel and all Diane’s books that followed are suspenseful Florida mysteries. Rather than a strapping, muscular boat-bum like McGee, Diane’s heroes are Wilhelmina Carson, Jennifer Lane, and Jess Kimball women who deliver true justice along with a splash of humor. The books quickly found a publisher, an audience, and acclaim as well, under the author name M. Diane Vogt. She was humming along on all cylinders again when her publisher failed, bankruptcy followed, and a legal quagmire swallowed her
  • JoinedMay 25, 2012


Last Message
DianeCapri DianeCapri Oct 28, 2014 08:37PM
Posted the first chapter of my new book False Truth: A Jordan Fox Mystery. This books kicks off an exciting new series. Check it out!
View all Conversations

Stories by Diane Capri
False Truth: A Jordan Fox Mystery (Books 1-3) by DianeCapri
False Truth: A Jordan Fox Mystery (Books 1-3) #782 in Mystery / Thriller
For WattPad Fans of Due Justice and Fatal Enemy! This is Part One a NEW multi-part serial mystery -- like the TV News, 22 year-old Jordan Fox's story unfolds over multiple short books that together create a contin...
Due Justice by DianeCapri
Due Justice #949 in Mystery / Thriller
When a famous plastic surgeon's decomposed body surfaces in Tampa Bay with a bullet in its head, Federal Judge Willa Carson's "little sister" is caught in a high-stakes game of greedy lawyers, blackmail a...
Fatal Enemy by DianeCapri
Fatal Enemy Mystery / Thriller
Jess Kimball's Impossible Mission: Protect Crime Victims Relentless victims' rights advocate Jess Kimball and Jack Reacher both deliver justice when the legal system fails. Reacher waits until trouble finds him an...
1 Reading List