Writing and theatre have always been my great passions and I have been fortunate to have been able to keep both in my life - despite the many distractions that have led me astray over the years!

My first completed play, Daisy Chain (co-written with my daughter, Eryn) was produced in Melbourne in 2010. Brimstone is my third finished novel and is the first in the four-book series, Earth, Air, Fire and Water. Its sequel, Hourglass is nearing completion. I am also completing a literary historical romp called Master Quickly. Oh, and I mustn't forget a children's picture storybook titled Buckle and the Pirate, with illustrations by the wonderful artist Serena Riglietti, who (among a great many other achievements) was the illustrator of the Italian edition of the Harry Potter books. Rather than release Buckle and the Pirate as a traditional book, I am planning to develop it into an interactive book app. Last, but not least, I have also done some freelance work, including an article for the Guardian books section.

Earning enough from my writing to keep body and soul well-nourished is a fine ambition. But if I have to sacrifice that to get people to read my books by giving them away, that seems like a pretty fine thing to do as well.

By the way, the profile picture isn't me. That's Jenny, the alchemist's apprentice, from my novel Brimstone. She's just much nicer to look at than I am.
  • Australia
  • JoinedNovember 27, 2013

Last Message
AlanSkinner AlanSkinner Aug 09, 2015 10:54AM
Today, my novel Brimstone reached 10,000 views. I would like to thank all those who chose to follow me for their invaluable support. To all those who have left comments, thank you again and I trust I...
View all Conversations

Stories by Alan Skinner
Brimstone (Book 1 of the Earth, Air, Fire and Water series.) by AlanSkinner
Brimstone (Book 1 of the Earth, Air, Fire and Water series.) Adventure
Brimstone was first published in 2010, in paperback and ebook, by the author under the imprint Sibling Press. The book has been well-received by both critics and readers. Now, with the second book in the series (Ho...
Blue Fire and Ice (Book 1 of The Land's Tale series) by AlanSkinner
Blue Fire and Ice (Book 1 of The Land's Tale series) Fantasy
This is a story about people and animals who never existed, and yet lived a long and happy life. This is a story full of magic and improbable things, and yet there are no practitioners of magic, no witches, no wiza...
Scribblings: Essays, Musings and Reviews by AlanSkinner
Scribblings: Essays, Musings and Reviews Non-Fiction
Wilting under the pressure of overwhelming public opinion (I am easily overwhelmed), I am publishing here essays, pondering and reviews (OK, blogs) that I wrote for my author site, Bookmasque, between January 2012...
10 Reading Lists