NEW: Introducing Tap. Addictive chat stories for your 📲 Now in 10 languages
DOWNLOAD NOW!
Oryx and Crake (MaddAddam Trilogy, #1)

Oryx and Crake (MaddAddam Trilogy, #1)

19.1K Reads 532 Votes 7 Part Story
Promoted by
Hulu
Margaret Atwood By MargaretAtwood Completed

This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of "Oryx and Crake," nothing will ever look the same again.

The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief.

With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter.

isisunit isisunit Jul 30, 2016
As always a stunning work. The nuance text and myriad layers make this a phenomenal read time and again.
I've already read this book like three times, but I just want to tell you I love you and you're amazing. Don't mind me while I fangirl like a crazy person. It's cool.
DinoZombiez DinoZombiez Mar 17, 2016
Just read this for my English class and I was blown away. Loved the book and I can't wait to read the next one!
tkentwp tkentwp Jul 03, 2014
The MaddAddam Trilogy is superb!!  I read The Handmaids Tale in my twenties--to me it is one of the best books ever written.  Because of that book I will always read anything and everything you ever write.  Decades later you have NEVER let me down!!
OllieRedfern OllieRedfern Sep 03, 2013
Great novel!  Looking forward to reading "Maddaddam", the final part of the trilogy.