The Fairytale Community's 2016 Retelling Awards [closed]

The Fairytale Community's 2016 Retelling Awards [closed]

18.8K Reads 988 Votes 19 Part Story
The Fairy Tale Community By FairytaleCommunity Updated Apr 16, 2017


All you need to know about the Watty Award style contest that is just for retellings and stories heavily inspired by fairytales, folk tales, legends, myths, nursery rhymes, historical figures, and classic novels or plays! Fondly called the FCRAs for short. 

To enter your retelling in our contest, take a look at our rules and then just tag your story #FCRAs2016

This year's theme  for our special award category is People of the Sea!

But don't worry! There are plenty of other areas that a story could win in that has absolutely nothing to do with the special award category!


Cover made by @Pennywithaney

  • awards
  • classic
  • competition
  • contest
  • fairytale
  • fairytalecommunity
  • fcras2016
  • folktale
  • legend
  • mermaid
  • myth
  • open
  • play
  • retelling
  • retellings
  • retellingsunite
_Palen _Palen Jul 12, 2016
What's the chapter limit? Do all stories need to be marked completed? Or is it the same rules as the Wattys this year in that sense?
midnight_misfit midnight_misfit Jul 31, 2016
I was going to enter until you said no OnceUponNow entries. Well, now I have an excuse to write another story!
Emmalee_Sky Emmalee_Sky Oct 01, 2016
Quick question: My story was originally written during the OnceUponNow contest, but I've since done major editing and changes... is that alright?
zero-infinity zero-infinity Jul 13, 2016
To submit, do you just add the tag? Or do you have to change the title to this:
                              TITLE | #FRCAs2016
Daleash10 Daleash10 Aug 11, 2016
So if the story is set up like the Disney version but you don't use the characters names and it's almost completely different, mostly it's your own story, is that still allowed or does it count as fan fiction?
- - Jul 12, 2016
Ok. So we can enter absolutely any re-telling of a myth, legend, etc. have it be three chapters minimum and it's eligible for the contest? 
                              But The People of The Sea is a category of its own, Right?