Tag, You're It: 20 Questions

472 35 54

1. I was born in South Africa, during the Apartheid, to a Brasilian mother and an English father.

2. We travelled a lot as a family. By the time I was 26 years old, I'd visited over 20 countries and lived in 5 continents.

3. I learnt to read the Tarot when I was 8 years old, thanks to a pack of cards that came with a copy of Cosmopolitan magazine that my mom bought.

4. I was obsessed with the TV series Dallas between the ages of 6 and 8. I then discovered Agatha Christie and read all of her books. Stephen King then substituted Agatha when I was a preteen, and King got knocked off the podium when I discovered The Smiths and Morrissey.

5. I can't stand any physical contact after I've eaten. I feel like I'm some sort of anaconda that must remain still and untouched while it digests its food.

6. My dream job as a kid was to be a private detective. Later, I played with the idea of studying cinema, photography and communications. I ended up getting a degree in Montreal, Canada, in History and English Literature (writing and reading has always been a lifelong love.)

7. I arrived in London with my boyfriend in 2001, a week after the 11 September terrorist attacks. We lived in hostels for two weeks while we tried to find a more permanent home and work. We thought we'd live in England for a few years and then return to Canada (where I'd met him, while doing my BA). Before we knew it, 12 years had gone by and we'd built a life in London.

8. At the end of 2013, I decided to abandon my life in London and return to my family in Brasil, to help with the family business (a guesthouse in the mountains of Minas Gerais.) 2014 turned out to be one of the more difficult years of my life. I'm sure in the future I'll look back and see its positives too.

9. At the end of 2014 I plan on returning to London and picking up where I left off with my career (arts marketing) and life. I'll be returning without a job, home or savings.  Thankfully, many sofas have been offered to us until we find our feet.

10. I was a temp for many years in London, going from one boring admin job to another. I didn't know what I wanted to do until I ended up at the National Theatre, where I worked for 2 years in Marketing and the Press. I discovered that working within the arts was my thing.

11. I went through quite a few youth culture phases in the 90s: Britpop, rave, Goth. All part of trying to find myself. I still love music today - all kinds - and love discovering new artists and bands.

12. I'm slightly OCD.  I can spend hours categorising my 15.000+ songs on iTunes.  But I also love introducing random elements into things, especially creative writing.

13. I love videogames, in particular those by Nintendo. I don't play them as often as I can as I worry I should be doing more productive things (writing, reading, chores). My 5-year-old nephew disagrees that I'm a silly kidult.

14. My boyfriend was a child star in Canada. He's a very talented illustrator and writer today.

15. I think women make better fiction writers than men. When I think of all those women in the past that could have written but didn't have access to education or weren't allowed to express themselves... I'm lost for words.

16. I could easily drink my body weight in coffee every day. But I know it's not a good idea...

17. I've been blogging since 2000. I made many lifelong friends through Livejournal. I still mourn the appearance of Facebook - I just don't think it offers the same possibilities to meet new people and to exchange ideas as systems like Livejournal, Wordpress, etc do. I like Twitter though.

18. I went from being a bookish child that always got picked last in school to a jocky, sporty adult. This past year in Brasil has been terrible for my health as I spend most of my time sitting around and eating cake and bread (though I've bizarrely lost weight.)  I recently started running again in the mornings and my body is like "Hallelujah!" My favourite mode of exercise is swimming.

19. I love gardening and horticulture though I'm a beginner. I used to volunteer at a community garden in London. If I wasn't so busy with running the guesthouse I would spend more time working in its orchard and veggie garden.

20. I'm a dog and cat person.

Picos GêmeosRead this story for FREE!