Bangtan Boys 방탄소년단

2.1K 25 0

Bangtan Boys (Korean: 방탄소년단, RR: Bangtan Sonyeondan, Translation: Bulletproof Boy Scouts) is a South Korean seven-member hip-hop boy group formed by Big Hit Entertainment, a company who also manages the artists GLAM and 2AM. They debuted on June 13, 2013 with their first title song No More Dream followed by We Are Bulletproof Pt.II. They have won the title of "New Artist of the Year" at several music award functions including the 2013 MelOn Music Awards and Golden Disk Awards, 2014 Seoul Music Awards and Gaon Chart K-Pop Awardswith multiple other nominations at other award ceremonies. They have also had their own variety show called Rookie King: Channel Bangtan(신인왕: 채널 방탄), which aired on the SBS MTV channel for a total of eight episodes.


J-Hope appeared on several music programs due to his feature in 2AMmember Jo Kwon's single, "Animal". The rest of the members also appeared in Jo Kwon's "I'm Da One" music video. The group was expected to debut in 2010, but due to members leaving the group lineup, the debut was postponed. Rap Monster remains as the only member of the original group line-up. The group released two cover songs before their debut. Three members, Jin, Rap Monster and Suga, produced and released a cover track of Kendrick Lamar's"Swimming Pools (Drank)", and titled it "School of Tears," a track delved into the workings of modern society, especially that of the school system, and its backward ways. Three other members, J-Hope, Jungkook and Jimin, produced "Graduation Song", a cover track of Wiz Khalifa's "Young, Wild, & Free". Despite being part of the group since 2010, member V, was kept a secret until the initial release of their debut teasers for "No More Dream".

2013: 2 Cool 4 Skool, O! R U L8 2?

The first teaser was released on May 26. The concept is driven by a hip-hop beat accompanied by Rap Monster's voice that plays as the names of the seven members, album lyrics and song titles flash by.[1] Following this, V's first image teaser was released on June 2, 2013,[2] followed by members Jin, Jimin, and Jungkook in the second image teasers on June 3, 2013,[3]and members J-Hope, Suga, and Rap Monster in the last set of image teasers released on June 6, 2013.[4]

On June 6, Bangtan Boys released a tracklist for their debut single album, "2 Cool 4 Skool"[5] Their first official album music video with the title "No More Dream" was released on June 12, 2013 through Big Hit Entertainment's official YouTube channel. They debuted on M! Countdown on June 13, 2013. On July 16, 2013 another single from their debut EP, "We are Bulletproof Pt. II", was released.

The first teaser for "O! R U L8 2?" was released on August 26. It featured leader, Rap Monster, rapping while images related to BTS and their style of music floated past, before the items begin to break an invisible sheet of glass. At the ending of the teaser, the title of the comeback, written in red, is contrasted against a white background, and the date of their comeback featured underneath; 2013.09.11. Teaser pictures for their comeback were released on August 29 and featured the boys dressed in white, with stunning white backgrounds. On September 11, 2013 they released a music video for their next title track N.O. Promotions for their album continued through performances on various music shows until November 2013, ending with performances for their songs "Satoori Rap" and "Attack of Bangtan".

2014: Skool Luv Affair, Japanese activities

On January 14, 2014, Big Hit Entertainment announced that the group would have their comeback with their new mini album Skool Luv Affair, due for release on February 12, 2014. They revealed more about the album to media outlets that "Having discussed their dreams and happiness with their songs released last year, the boys will now reflect teens' idea of love this time... The members directly participated in the production of the songs in this album, abundantly bringing out the emotions of teens." [6] Additionally, after a week of the announcement, a comeback countdown was released on their official webpage, accompanied by a snippet of their latest tracks.[7]

After multiple teasers, on February 11, 2014, the group held a showcase for their second mini album "Skool Luv Affair" at the Lotte Card Arts Centre, Seoul. For the first time in front of their A.R.M.Y fanbase, they performed some highly anticipated songs from their upcoming new album such as "JUMP", "Just One Day", and "Boy In Luv". In the interview section during showcase, they also revealed some stories behind the album making. As said before, the members directly participated in song production. Suga, Rap Monster and J-Hope in particular played a large contribution in both music production and lyrics. They worked alongside the producer Hitman Bang, as well as Pdogg, Supreme Boi, Slow Rabbit, and OWO. Suga also revealed that he actually began producing the lyrics and melody for JUMP and Tomorrow when he was a trainee. Rap Monster would also comment that the album was completed in the middle of their year-end activities, despite an extremely tight schedule consisting of various promotional activity and award function rehearsals and performances.

Not long after the showcase was held, BTS released the highly anticipated music video for their comeback track "Boy in Luv" on Big Hit Entertainment's YouTube channel.[8] The music video features the members as school students. Dressed in dark school uniforms, the seven members show strong and sharp choreography to complemement the hip-hop/rock themed song. BTS' second mini album "Skool Luv Affair" was released on February 12, and consists of 10 tracks. The boys then started promotions on music shows soon after.[9] Shortly after, BTS released the music video for "Just One Day", another track in the album.[10]

In mid-February, it was disclosed that the band would appear in their own version of a popular Japanese simulation game known as "Kstars Wonderland".[11] The project not only furthered their popularity among fans in the country, but also made them the second artist to participate in it, the first being fellow South Korean boy group, Infinite.

In early March, Big Hit Entertainment announced that BTS was scheduled to make their official Japanese debut.[12] The album was officially released on June 4, with their first official single being a Japanese version of their general debut song, "No More Dream". On July 14, 2014, they showcased their first own America concert, "BTS: Show & Prove," where they performed what they had learned in LA and older songs. It is to be broadcast on TV on their reality show called, "BTS American Hustle Life," starting on July 24, 2014.


Their official fanclub is named A.R.M.Y : Adorable Representative M.C for Youth.


FACTS ABOUT YOUR KPOP IDOLTahanan ng mga kuwento. Tumuklas ngayon