Day6 데이식스

268 4 0

Day6 (Hangul: 데이식스, stylized as DAY6) is a South Korean rock band formed by JYP Entertainment. The group consists of five members: Sungjin, Jae, Young K, Wonpil, and Dowoon. The group debuted with a mini album, The Day, on September 7, 2015.


Pre-debut: K-pop Star, 5LIVE

In 2010, Young K was active under the name Brian Kang as part of a three-member group in Toronto, Canada. Along with members Terry He and Don Lee, he performed at several local stages and has several covers up on Terry He's channel. Along with Don Lee, Young K was contacted by JYP and then auditioned, and then accepted to be trainees. Don Lee later left JYP to pursue medical studies.

In 2012, Jae competed on the first season of SBS K-pop Star. Though he finished in sixth place in the competition overall, he later signed an exclusive contract with JYP Entertainment alongside the season's winner, Park Ji-min, and third-place finisher, Baek A-yeon.

JYP Entertainment initially announced the group as a five-member group called 5LIVE, composed of Sungjin, Jae, Young K, Junhyeok, and Wonpil. The group began promotions as 5LIVE in 2014, appearing on the 4th episode of Mnet's reality-survival program Who is Next: WIN and releasing a song titled "Lovely Girl" for the Pretty Man OST. However, the band came to dislike this name as many fans compared their name with that of American band Maroon 5.

In mid-2015, drummer Dowoon was added to the group. In the band's name, the 6 members represent the first 6 days of the week, while the fans represent the 7th day.In preparation for their debut, Day6 performed a series of promotional concerts at live clubs across Seoul.

2015: Debut with The Day, first concert

Day6's debut mini-album The Day, which includes the single "Congratulations," was released on September 7, 2015. "Congratulations" was also released as a music video on YouTube. Day6 began their first solo concert tour, "DAY6 1st Live Concert," or "D-Day," on November 20 and 21, 2015 at Seoul's Yes24 Movie Hall. Within 5 minutes of tickets going on sale the concert sold out.[better source needed]

2016: Departure of Junhyeok and Daydream

On February 27, 2016, JYP Entertainment stated that Junhyeok has left the band due to personal reasons and terminated his contract with the company.

On March 30, 2016, Day6 returned as five members with their second mini-album Daydream.


Current members

Sungjin (성진), born Park Sungjin (박성진), is the leader, main vocalist, and guitarist.

Jae (제), born Park Jae-hyung (박제형), guitarist, vocalist, and rapper. He is originally from Long Beach, California.

Young K (영케이), born Kang Yeong-hyun (강영현), bassist, rapper, vocalist. He is originally from Toronto, Canada.

Wonpil (원필), born Kim Won-pil (김원필), synthesizer, vocalist.

Dowoon (도운), born Yoon Do-Woon (윤도운), drummer.

Former members

Junhyuk (준혁), born Im Jun-hyuk (임준혁), keyboardist, vocalist.


FACTS ABOUT YOUR KPOP IDOLTahanan ng mga kuwento. Tumuklas ngayon