Books in the Series

1K 40 5

Exuberance Is Beauty – Book 1

1940s Oregon

Oregon, 1940s: Eve Miller, a young war widow, rebels against the ordinariness of womanhood in the post-war era. Eve is enlightened as she succumbs to the sensual temptation of an adulterous affair. In its aftermath, Eve Miller's life unravels and leads to unexpected violence and moral isolation. Exuberance Is Beauty, is a contemporary interpretation of Adam and Eve's biblical allegory and Eve's fall into desolation. The story examines the consequence of erotic obsession and the repentance the female protagonist must pay for her sins of the flesh.

Atropa Belladonna – Book 2

1950s - Chicago 1950

Eve has recovered from the devastating aftermath of an obsessive affair. She appears to have established a new life with a loving, surrogate family where she can raise her lover Jeff's illegitimate son and secure her reputation. As she embarks on an independent life, Jeff writes to tell her he's been recently widowed and asks Eve to marry him. After tragedy strikes again, Eve is drawn back into his orbit. She moves to Chicago and begins a new life as his wife. Atropa Belladonna poetically illustrates the complexities of love, marriage and abuse in the context of the 1950s family.

Marvelous Error – Book 3

1960s – Chicago / San Francisco

Marvelous Error opens in 1955 in the aftermath of a near fatal act of domestic violence. Jeff and Eve navigate the last few months of their marriage. This is a time of reprieve during which Eve embarks on a personal journey towards self discovery and empowerment. Part 2 begins eight years later. Jeff and Eve have lived completely separate lives following their divorce but that changes when a ghost from Jeff's past returns to haunt their 18 year old daughter Clara. Jeff and Eve are forced to interact and old patterns resurface. As with the other books in the series, Marvelous Error portrays family drama and the female experience in the context of social and cultural change. Marvelous Error is the third in a five book saga chronicling the life of Eve Lambert and her family. It can be read as a stand alone novel.

Alchemy - Book 4

1972 Christmas in Chicago

Alchemy is told in alternating points of view. Both Jeffery, Eve's youngest son and Eve recount the events leading up to a family drama that plays out over the Christmas Holiday. This will be the first time all of the children have been home together in a very long time. More than anything Eve wants to make the holiday special for everyone. That proves an impossible task as problems in Eve and Jeff's marriage escalate out of control. Neither Eve nor Jeff have insight into how these family patterns effect their children's' lives. Jeffery provides a contrasting point of view as he navigates the choices he makes in his own life.

Intentional Fallacy – Book 5

1973 - Chicago

When Eve finds a hidden set of journals kept by Jeff's first wife Margaret, she gains insight into the extent of his violent personality. Margaret's writing is haunting, schizophrenic and yet poetic. It reveals certain truths about Jeff that Eve has denied for so long. Eve becomes obsessed with comparing Margaret's life story with her own. As Eve's own narrative turns less reliable, Jeff insists she relinquish the diaries, but she refuses. When Margaret begins addressing Eve by name in her psychotic prose, Eve becomes terrified and descends into emotional self-destruction.Eve begins to believe she is in imminent danger. In an attempt to escape harm, she recreates a traumatic experience from early on in her marriage to Jeff.

Exuberance Is Beauty (Book 1)Where stories live. Discover now