Need Help with your writing? Enter here!

• LetoAtreides
    LetoAtreides
    2 years ago

I am looking to help people with good ideas for a story, who are struggling with how to write it. And to help people in finding ideas for a story. I think alot of people have good ideas and just need a bit of constructive help with it so that is why I have set up this post :)

Feel free to reply or contact me, I have a knack for picking out the problems people need help with and I would prefer to give specific help, rather than leave a generic comment on a story that doesn't really provide much of value.

I have a degree in Philosophy and Sociology, and I have an A Level in English Literature, so I should be qualified to provide a bit of support.

• _BlueDays
    _BlueDays
    2 years ago

@LetoAtreides I need help with showing not telling, I've been struggling with showing the reader and not telling the reader. Help,please!

• LetoAtreides
    LetoAtreides
    2 years ago

@BlueDays A great resource for this is the following exercise in the writers workshop:

http://www.wattpad.com/1893893-writer%27s-workshop-show-don%27t-tell-descriptive

You have to write a short descriptive piece without using any adverbs and very few adjectives. I think that could help you out.

when you use adverbs and adjectives alot its as if you are persuading the reader of things rather than letting them see them for themselves. Have a read of the page and give the exercise a go :)

• bowers15
    bowers15
    2 years ago

@LetoAtreides